Rasi (Rashi) Significance & Classification as Given in Parashara Hora Shastra

Rasi or Rashi is otherwise known as sign in astrology. The subject matter given below about Rashi or Rasi is influenced by the ancient literature written about astrology, thousands of years back. Most of the matter mentioned in this article is influenced by the ancient classic book about Vedic Astrology called  ‘Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra’. With due respect to the ancient sages and the almighty, we shall study these gems of wisdom with utmost care and responsibility.

Before starting with Rashis and its significance it is important to know what a ‘Hora'(Lagnas) is. The word Hora is derived from Ahoratr after dropping the first and last syllables. Thus Hora (Lagnas) remains in between Ahoratr (i.e. day and night) and after knowing ‘Hora’ the good and bad effects of a native should be known.

A zodiac or a Bhachakra represents Sri Vishnu(the one and only creator of this whole universe and all the seen and unseen matters) who is the time personified. The 12 Rasis are considered to be his limbs.

(The picture shows Rashis in an anti-clockwise direction as used in North Indian birth charts. In South Indian charts Rasis are counted clockwise but the sequence is the same.)

12 Rasis and Their Characteristics

The 12 Rāśis of the zodiac in order are

  • Mesh(Aries)
  • Vrishabh(Taurus)
  • Mithun(Gemini)
  • Kark(Cancer)
  • Simh(Leo)
  • Kanya(Virgo)
  • Tula(Libra)
  • Vrischik(Scorpio)
  • Dhanu(Sagittarius)
  • Makar(Capricorn)
  • Kumbh(Aquarius)
  • Meen(Pisces)

These Rasis represent Head, face, arms, heart, stomach, hip, space below the navel, private parts, thighs, knees, ankles and feet of the Kaala Purusha(Lord Vishnu as Time Personified) respectively.

Each Rashi and its Significance

Mesh (Aries)

  • Planet Mars is its lord.
  • Blood-red in complexion.
  • Has a prominent (big) physique.
  • Quadruped Rāśi and strong during the night.
  • Denotes courage.
  • Resides in the East and is related to kings.
  • Wanders in hills and predominates in Rajo-Guna. Rises with its back (a Prishtodaya Rāśi) and is fiery.


Vrishabh (Taurus)

  • Venus is its lord.
  • The complexion is white.
  • Long and is a quadruped Rāśi.
  • Has strength in the night and resides in the South.
  • Represents villages and businessmen.
  • An earthy Rāśi and rises with its back.

Mithun (Gemini)

  • Mercury is its lord.
  • Rises with its head and represents a male and a female, holding a
    mace and lute.
  • Lives in the West and is an airy Rāśi.
  • Is a biped Rāśi as well and is strong in nights.
  • Lives in villages and is windy in temperament.
  • It has an even body with a green (grass-like) hue.

Karka (Cancer)

  • Ruled by Moon.
  • It is a pale-red.
  • It resorts to forests and represents Brahmins.
  • It is strong in nights.
  • It has many feet (centipede Rāśi) and has a bulky body.
  • Is Sattvic in disposition (like in devas) and is a watery Rāśi.
  • It rises with its back.

Simha (Leo)

  • Ruled by Sun.
  • This also is a Sattvik Rasi.
  • It is a quadruped and a Royal Rasi.
  • It resorts to forests and rises with its head.
  • Has a large, white body.
  • It resides in the East and is strong during the daytime.

Kanya (Virgo)

  • Ruled by Mercury.
  • This is a hill-resorter and is strong in the daytime. Rises with its head and is medium built.
  • It is a biped Rāśi and resides in the South.
  • It has grains and fire in its hands.
  • This belongs to the business community and is variegated.
  • Related to hurricanes.
  • It is a Virgin and is Tamasic ( as in case of Danavas or demons).

Tula (Libra)

  • Venus is the lord of this Rasi.
  • Is a Seershodaya Rāśi, rising with its head;
  • Is strong in the daytime.
  • It is black in complexion and is predominant with Rajo-Guna.
  • It relates to the western direction and resorts to land.
  • Is destructive, or mischievous (‘Dhatin’).
  • It represents Sudras or the 4th Varna.
  • Has a medium built physique and is a biped Rāśi.

Vraschika (Scorpio)

  • This Rasi is ruled by Mars.
  • Has a slender physique and is a centipede Rāśi.
  • It denotes Brahmins and resides in holes.
  • Its direction is North and it is strong in the daytime.
  • It is reddish-brown and resorts to water and land.
  • It has a hairy physique and is very sharp (or passionate).

Dhanu (Sagittarius)

  • Jupiter or Guru is its lord. It rises with its head.
  • It is a Sattvic Rāśi and is tawny in hue.
  • It has strength in the night and is fiery.
  • A royal Rāśi, Dhanu is biped in the first half.
  • Its second half is a quadruped.
  • It has an even build and adores an arch.
  • It resides in the East, resorts to land and is splendorous.

Makara (Capricorn)

  • Saturn is its lord.
  • Has predominance of Tamo-Gun or Tamas.
  • It is an earthy Rāśi and represents the southern direction.
  • It is strong in nights and rises on the back.
  • It has a large body.
  • Its complexion is variegated and it resorts to both forests and lands.
  • Its first half is quadruped and its second half footless, moving in water.

Kumbh (Aquarius)

  • Saturn is the lord of this Sign.
  • Represents a man holding a pot.
  • Its complexion is deep-brown.
  • It a has medium build and is a biped Rāśi.
  • It is very strong in the daytime.
  • It resorts to deep water and is airy.
  • It rises with its head and is Tamasic.
  • It rules Sudras, the 4th Varna, and the West.

Meen (Pisces)

  • Lorded by Jupiter.
  • Resembles a pair of fish, one-tailed with the head of the other.
  • This Rāśi is strong at night.
  • It is a watery Rāśi and is predominant with Sattva-Gun.
  • It denotes resoluteness and is a water-resorter.
  • It is footless and has a medium build.
  • It rules the North and rises with both head and back.

Continuation of this article about Rashi can be found here.

Leave a Comment